SmartBizPK CitySitesPK WebRingPK WebLinksPK ClassAdsPK InfoSitesPK  
Other Info Sites

In ancient days Jhelum was known as Jalham. This word is combination of two words Jal & Ham. Jal means pure water & Ham stands for snow.Jhelum is located in northern Pakistan. Jhelum river is one of the subsiaries of the Punjab river. It's a very old city. It was known to the Greeks as Hydaspes - Alexander the great dropped by when he tried to conquer the planet.

District Jhelum is situated in the North-East of Punjab, Jhelum spreads on both sides of the Grand Trunk Road. It is bound in the North by Rawalpindi District, in the South by Mandi Baha-ud-Din, Gujrat and Sargodha in the East by Azad Jammu and Kashmir and in the West by Chakwal & Khushab from which it is separated by the mountain range called the Kohistan-e-Namak.

The river passes through the Eastern and Southern Parts of the district. The soil adjoining the river is generally plain, alluvial and quite fertile. This area is generally cultivable and produces all types of crops. In the North, however, most of the upland is rough and broken. The land here is mostly fertile but Barani Mountains of the Salt Range with interspersed plateaus cover much of it. The western edge of Tehsil PD Khan is both exceedingly rough and difficult in approach making this area relatively inaccessible. The newly constructed Motorway is now opened up this area.

  District Information  
The District of Jhelum was established under the British regime on 23rd March 1849. The Head quarter of the district was Pind Dadan Khan. It consisted of Tehsils of P.D. Khan, Chakwal and Jabbi. In the same year tehsil of Rohtas was also transferred to this district from Rawalpindi. In 1850 Jabbi Tehsil was abolished and new Tehsil of Jhelum was constituted. In 1857 Talagang tehsil was transferred to Campbellpur district. Thus at the time of independence the district consisted of three tehsils Jhelum, Pind Dadan Khan and Chakwal. During the year 1985 Chakwal district was created comprising Chakwal Tehsil, Talagang Tehsil of Attock District & substantial part of Pind Dadan Khan Tehsil. Jhelum Tehsil was bifurcated in two parts by creating a new Tehsil of Sohawa out of it with effect from July, 1985. In the year, 2003, the Tehsil Jhelum was once again bifurcated into parts by creating a new Tehsil namely Dina, w.e.f. 30/10/2003. Now the District Jhelum consists of the following four Tehsils.
  1. Jhelum
  2. Dina
  3. Sohawa
  4. Pind Dadan Khan
  Climate & General Soil Condition  
The climate of the district is hot in summer and dry cold in winter. The average annual rain fall is 880 mm. The temperature during the winter season remains between 8C to 20C which shoots upto 42C during summer. The climate and soil conditions are generally suitable for industrialization.  
Each of district site has basic information of that district. These sites are handed over to some Institution who further develop and maintain the site.  
  SmartBizPK WebRingPK WebLinksPK CitySitesPK ClassAdsPK InfoSitesPK - Copyright © 2006 - 2009. All Rights Reserved